Grand Prix Rules and Scoring

Updated: 06/16/2014 16:57



The Grand Prix was started in 2005 by the Southern Arizona Roadrunners to help create and foster competition among the SAR community. It was designed to give a greater number of people recognition for their efforts through out the year.

Minimum number of races requirement

Beginning with the 2013 Grand Prix, members will need to complete 4 Grand Prix events in order to be eligible for Grand Prix awards.

Multi-event Races

Some races (e.g. Old Tucson Studios and Thanksgiving Day 5k) are held with separate events for men and women. In these races, members who participate in the wrong event (i.e. a man running in the women's race) will not receive points for that event.

Age Groups

Your Grand Prix age group for the year will be determined based on your age on January 1, 2014. This does not affect the age group that you participate in for individual races.

For example...
If you were born on January 15, 1984, you would be 29 at the beginning of the year and compete in the 20-29 age group for the Grand Prix for the year. Once you turn 30, you compete in 30-34 (or 30-39) age group at individual races but you remain in the 20-29 age group for Grand Prix purposes.

Results Disputes

Participants in the Grand Prix have one month from the date of a race to dispute the results of that race. If your name does not appear in the results, or you feel that the results are inaccurate, you should contact the race director to resolve the issue. All result disputes will be adjudicated by a Rules Committee consisting of the Club President, the Club Vice-President and the Grand Prix Committee Chair. If a dispute involves one of these members, the SAR Board of Directors will choose a replacement member for the Rules Committee.

Double Winners

Participants can win awards in only one category and will receive the award with the highest value. For example, if a participant wins in the Top 5 Overall Category and in the Age Group Category, they will be pulled from the Age Group Category and those below will be bumped up. For example, if a master's participant wins in the Top 3 Masters Category and the Age Group Category, they will be pulled from the Age Group Category and will receive one award with the highest value. This change was made to standardize the awards across categories and to give a greater number of people recognition for their efforts throughout the year.


Everyone that is a SAR member as of January 1, 2014 will be automatically entered in the Grand Prix. To participate in the Grand Prix, you must be a SAR member by July 1, 2014. If you become a SAR member by July 1, 2014, all Grand Prix races you have participated in will be counted retroactively. New Members who join after July 1, 2014, will not be counted in the Grand Prix, but will be eligible for the Grand Prix in the following year. If your membership expires after July 1, 2014, you will be pulled from the results. On July 1, 2014, all results will be re-calculated based on the July 1, 2014 SAR membership list. Final results will be calculated based on a cross-referenced list of those who are SAR members on both July 1, 2014 and on the date of the Thanksgiving Cross Country Classic 5K.


Your 10 highest scoring races out of 12 will be scored.

Point System

The point system for each race will award 40 points for first place in a category (e.g. age group or overall) down to 1 point for 25th place.

  • 1st - 40 points
  • 2nd - 34 points
  • 3rd - 29 points
  • 4th - 25 points
  • 5th - 22 points
  • 6th - 20 points
  • 7th - 19 points
  • 8th - 18 points
  • 9th - 17 points
  • 10th - 16 points
  • 11th - 15 points
  • 12th - 14 points
  • 13th - 13 points
  • 14th - 12 points
  • 15th - 11 points
  • 16th - 10 points
  • 17th - 9 points
  • 18th - 8 points
  • 19th - 7 points
  • 20th - 6 points
  • 21st - 5 points
  • 22nd - 4 points
  • 23rd - 3 points
  • 24th - 2 points
  • 25th - 1 point